5 years of AIIB: NGOs reveal how China-led bank disregards rights of affected people

Updated: Aug 26


5 years after its foundation, the Chinese-led Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) still risks the wellbeing and livelihoods of people affected by its projects across Asia. In a joint press conference, NGO Forum on the ADB together with civil society organizations from Bangladesh, India, and Germany intend to shed light on the weak Human Rights and Environmental standards of the multilateral bank and give examples of harmful AIIB projects.


The press conference will reflect on the recently held AIIB virtual annual meeting, which was heavily criticized for not including civil society representatives. During the press conference, the NGOs will also explore the bank's climate change approach, in view of its recent financing of fossil fuel-based energy projects that harm the Goals of the Paris Agreement.


The press conference is scheduled to take approximately 45 minutes and will include both presentations from the speakers as well as a Q&A with the experts.

Speakers are members of impacted communities and CSOs monitoring AIIB-funded projects.

Mr. Hassan Mehedi 

Coastal Livelihood and Environmental Action Network (CLEAN)

Bangladesh


Ms. Vidya Dinker

GrowthWatch

India


Dr. Nora Sausmikat 

Urgewald

Germany


AUGUST 25th, 2020

5pm Manila | 3pm Dhaka | 2:30pm New Delhi | 11am Berlin | 10am London

You can register in advance for the digital press conference through this link.

80 views

Recent Posts

See All

NGO Forum on ADB

The NGO Forum on ADB is a network of civil society organizations (CSOs) that has been monitoring the projects, programs, and policies of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) and the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB). 

Explore

Stay Connected

Campaigns

Contact Us

85-A Masikap Extension,

Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines

+632 8436-1858 | +632 8921-4412

secretariat@forum-adb.org 

Copyright ©2020 NGO Forum on ADB. All Rights Reserved.